| 
  • If you are citizen of an European Union member nation, you may not use this service unless you are at least 16 years old.

  • Stop wasting time looking for files and revisions! Dokkio, a new product from the PBworks team, integrates and organizes your Drive, Dropbox, Box, Slack and Gmail files. Sign up for free.

View
 

Databases

Page history last edited by C Woods 2 weeks, 6 days ago

Your teachers will accept database information more often than they will let you use unrecommended websites since the databases bring you reviewed, edited, authoritative articles and images that websites often cannot equal in quality.  Having the MLA citation attached to most database articles is a big time-saver, too!

 

The databases below are password-protected, so get the passwords from the GHS Library to use at school or at home.

Remember that clicking one of these links may take you off the Gilmer HS Library site! Depending on your computer's settings,  it may click-through using this window so you'll have to back-arrow to return here or it may open a new browser window.

 


World Book Online Resources (They will be available until April 30, 2020. no username and password required)

https://worldbookonline.com/wb/products?ed=all&gr=Welcome+to+World+Book+Online%21

 

Databases Support Website

http://texquest.net/welcome/

 

TexQuest Databases Resource Guide

It breaks down the Texquest databases by grade level (elementary, middle school, high school); and content & educator specific.

Content and features are listed for each database. 

The individual links can be used to go each one.

TexQuest Resource Guide 7-31-19.pdf

 

Britannica School 

Britannica Online School Edition and Spanish
http://school.eb.com

 

EBSCO eBooks

http://search.ebscohost.com

 

EBSCO Help

https://help.ebsco.com/schools

http://support.ebsco.com/help/

 

Gale/Cengage Group

18 Databases covering a wide range of topics including of academic articles, journals and reports; encyclopedias;, newspapers; magazines; periodicals and much more. 

 

The link below can be used to search all or specific Gale databases 

http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/j230902 

 

 

The link below breaks down the Gale databases by grade level (Along the right side of the website page below are additional resources.)

https://www.galepages.com/texquest

(Note: The link above is currently not working.) 

 

 

 

Learn 360

https://learn360.infobase.com/p_Home.aspx 

 

Institute of Museum and Library Services

The Institute of Museum and Library Services is the primary source of federal support for the nation's approximately 123,000 libraries  and 35,000 museums.

https://www.imls.gov/

 

ProQuest SIRS Discover

http://discoverer.sirs.com

 

Teachingbooks.net

Books come to life with this engaging collection of resources

http://www.teachingbooks.net/texas

 

 

 

The databases below are not password protected:

 

Includes adaptive practice for math and science

http://www.ck12.org/

 

Datebase of resources

https://www.participate.com/

 

https://www.oercommons.org/

 

Lit2Go is a free online collection of stories and poems in Mp3 (audiobook) format. An abstract, citation, playing time, and word count are given for each of the passages. Many of the passages also have a related reading strategy identified. Each reading passage can also be downloaded as a PDF and printed for use as a read-along or as supplemental reading material for your classroom

http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/

 

Folger Digital Texts offer meticulously edited versions of Shakespeare’s plays and poems in a clear, readable format with the added power of sophisticated coding. Folger Digital Texts—including full source code—can also be downloaded for free in PDF and XML formats for noncommercial use.

http://www.folger.edu/folger-digital-texts

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 For librarian use only:
Icons, widgets, and other customization options are available at: TexQuest.net > Connect > Provider Support

 

return to GHS Library home.

 

 

 

Comments (0)

You don't have permission to comment on this page.